Monitech

Tag: dui

After a DUI conviction in North Carolina, you license will be suspended for 45 days, during which it is illegal for you to operate a vehicle.  After you serve that suspension, you can apply for limited driving privileges which allow you to drive to work and for essential things such as child care and medical appointments.  

It’s important to note that in addition to applying for the limited driving license with the DMV, you will be required to enroll in and complete a substance abuse evaluation, call your insurance company for a special statement of financial responsibility (called an SR-22 certificate) and, in  some instances, install an ignition interlock in the vehicle you drive. Monitech is headquartered in North Carolina and has been providing residents with reliable interlock devices for over 30 years. Our dedicated state experts can help you with every step of the program, from finding out if you need an interlock to installation, monitoring and license recovery.  

The specific laws related to ignition interlocks can be found in the North Carolina Statutes.  You should ask questions to make sure you understand all the requirements to get you back on the road safely and legally.  

For more general information about alcohol impaired driving arrests in North Carolina, here’s a great article from the Charlotte Observer.   

 

800-521-4246
Book Install Onlineand get a FREE Install! or Call 1-800-521-4246